11 comments on “Homemade Home Automation ‘App’

  1. Hello,

    I would love to grab the source… I am currently planning on my HA project and am looking at X10 for the price 🙂

    How are you interfacing with X10? CM15 and then are you using the SDK to call from PHP?

    I like what you have so far, maybe you can put the code on GitHub and others can help. I have been watching http://majordomohome.com which is an HA software written in PHP.

    Thanks for your blog!

    • Hey I’m using a cm15a and I think that’s the only way to go, sadly they are rarely available so if you see one for a good price, grab it. The cm19a and cm11(i think.. firecracker) dont do direct tx/rx over power line, they rely on a RF transmitter and are limited to one channel per transmitter. In my opinion very limited.

      I use MochaD on linux, it’s pretty good. Windows makes me throw up and honestly even the times I did use the official x10 sdk I found it to be a pain. Mochad works very well.

      I do plan to open up a github, it’s about time. Sadly my source is sloppy and not geared towards mass consumption, so it will require a bit of rework, but I do wish to share it. I was actually shocked to find a lot of my needs havent been met with existing (sometimes at a cost) software solutions.

      • The CM11a is the original CM15a, I think the difference is that CM15a has RF built in? Anyway I am playing with the CM11a right now and just got it working from the command line in Windows… I know you hate Windows but I rather something I am comfortable with for now before delving into Ubuntu. I tried Ubuntu the other day to get Domotiga working but failed! In case you haven’t seen this it is a really cool Home Automation software that runs on Linux and is open source. http://www.domotiga.nl/

        I would probably run it myself if I could get it working 🙂 When I get some more time I will try again…

        You should do the Github thing, I just started using it myself because I am helping yet another developer with a PHP Home Automation system. I can’t say anything bad about Git! And as far as your code, never worry that it is NOT good enough just release it, there is always version 2 🙂

        Really looking forward to seeing your system and code examples…

      • You’re right. The cm11 is the serial version to the cm15. It maybe doesn’t have rf. Hadn’t checked. So the rf only versions are the cm19 and the cracker. I don’t recommend those ones but sadly they are the most common to be found. I have 3 cm19’s and a firecracker. All of which I basically got for free.

        Nothiso wrong with windows I just find linux easier.

        I’ve tried the domo’s. Majordomo and domotiga. I should give them another serious look. I’m just finding many soltuions have a lot of one thing but too little of another. When its geared towards a mass market the polish on the specific features tend to suffer. Also I’m doing a few things that are complete one offf cases and no software vendor would dream of coding. Anyway I’m half decent at coding so I figured hey why not. I may still fall back to a mainstream solution

    • Hey sorry for the delay. Those specific question should be answered on my blog already. Tell me some specifics and I’ll be happy to fill in the blanks for you and others.

  2. hello , I would like to see the soure code of your app to android, you say that you made ​​this in HTML, is that I would like to do something well for me, but not how to get started with it and I would be helpful , you can send me , please , thanks

Leave a Reply

