10 comments on “Open Home Automation User Interface for PC and Mobile [WIP]

  1. This is good work. When I eventually get around to getting off my ass to start building my system, this looks like what I may use. Quick question though, will the graphics assets be editable/replaceable? I am a bit picky about design, and while yours isn’t bad, it’s not quite to my taste.

  2. Wow! This is a very useful page and I really enjoyed reading article and all users’ comments. Smart Home Group is a privately owned and operated Technology Distribution company offering a full range of Home Automation solutions. With a strong brand presence in the Australian market, Smart Home Group continues to provide value for money solutions across a growing range of products. Thank you for sharing valuable information.

  3. I’ve also been working on a from-scratch home automation software kit that seems to have very similar aims as yours. Mine is called gnhast, and the idea is that each piece of equipment is controlled by a driver that acts somewhat similarly to a UNIX device driver. There is a central control coordination program, that deals with all the different devices. All the communication is handled through a common API. If you want to switch a light on, you tell the central controller to do so, it finds the daemon that is communicating with that device, and asks it to flip the switch.

    My point being, this sounds nearly identical to your goal. However, all my stuff is just ugly backend code, I have no pretty front end, and I pretty much suck at css. However, it seems like our two efforts could easily be combined. You should email me, I’d really like to see what you have, or see if we can collaborate in some way.

    • Hey thanks for the info and sorry for the late reply. What you’re doing sounds interesting. Maybe throw up a few videos walking through your solution. I agree with you that you could take me “pretty” front end and adapt it for your use. I tried to write it with back end generic in mind.

  4. I’ve created something similar based on node.js and arduino based wireless sensors/controllers. Node.js doesn’t need external scripts and the server process will keep on running (not only during page requests like php). This way you can have the same single application serve the web pages, insert information in the DB based on incoming wireless data and perform the (timed) home automation.

Leave a Reply

