156 comments on “Automated Window Blinds with Arduino

  1. Hi, I see in your code that every print statement has a ‘debug and’ Serial.print
    what does the debug do and is it necessary?

  2. I have an Arduino Mega 2560 that’s been sitting around waiting for me to learn how to use it. I think this project has inspired me enough to unbox it. My wife wants to bring her plants in for the winter, and place them in front of a window. I knew somebody out there had probably thought of a way to control the slats on a venetian blind, and wahla! I would like to see a design that is solar powered. Could a capacitor be charged with enough juice to close the blind at night? Do you know the name brand of the blinds you used? Thank you for sharing all of the information on how to construct this.

    • Mine were just from bouclaire, I don’t know if that’s a chain or just local. I would like to get this solar powered, a battery would have to be added as well. It would charge as much as possible during the day when idle. However I think the arduino could be modified to use less power, or some other microcontroller could be used that is more power efficient.

  3. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a regular basis, this site is genuinely nice and
    the visitors are truly sharing fastidious thoughts.

  4. hello sir, i am very much immpressed by your project i just wanted to know the full parts list…..pls help me as i am highly interested……any help will be appreciated………thank you…

  5. Thanks for the idea. I just started setting this up and the Futaba works perfectly with the cheap-o home depot blinds. However, I am having trouble finding a decent mounting solution for the servo. Where did you get that bracket?

  6. Any reason why you went with a servo motor over a stepper motor? I picked up a stepper motor (really cheap: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0089JV2OM/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and driver to play with and was going to implement essentially the exact same system as you have already put together. (I have blinds WAY up high in a room with 20 ft. ceilings… automation is essential!) I’m beginning to wonder if a servo is the better way to go since the stepper is continuously drawing power to keep the magnets charged, even when it’s not being given commands to move. Observed as the motor gets nice and warm while just sitting there. I was going to implement a switch/relay/something… to only power up the motor after a command was received… seems like a servo might solve this problem too. Nice project! I think the most challenging part for me is going to be wiring 20ft up behind the wall.

    • I don’t know much at all about stepper motors other than you want them for 3d printers. I used a servo because you can specify which degree you want it to move to, regardless of if it’s currently before or already past that position.

      They’re also geared as well so maybe torque is a factor?

      Servos are about $10. I’d be curious to know what sort of success you have with a stepper motor.

      Also, if you don’t want to run wires, perhaps take my project to the next level and see what you can do to get it to run efficiently off of battery (and maybe solar) power. I hope to do this soon, but would appreciate others submitting their attempts.

      • Any input on the battery thing? I’ve been working on a similar project with an arduino micro, servo, and a li-ion 3.7v 850 mA battery. For some reason it’s making the servo buzz that burns out the battery in 24 hours.

      • Hmm buzzing, that’s strange. You might have to offset the position by a degree (if you’re at 180, try 179) I think I saw a similar issue with some servos being stuck between gears or something.

        Are you using my code unmodified on battery? That’s probably why. Try making some edits to make it more power efficient. If you get it running on battery for a decent amount of time I would love to try your code.

    • Constantly turns in one direction, or does it go clockwise then counter-clockwise and repeat? If it constantly turns in one direction then you bought a continuous servo instead of a normal servo. I made the exact mistake at first. Regular servos only go 180 degrees in either direction.

      Also why are you using rev2, try the newest build.

      • It goes clockwise then counter-clockwise and repeat , then it does it again at about half the speed.

        I used rev2 because it said “Hands free motion control, kill switch, change of logic to button pre.” and the others said “Updated License Information” . Sorry I’m still a little new at this

  7. I wanted to use my universal remote for control, but I couldn’t find where in the code to input the ir code

  8. what battery pack to use to last longer? I tested it with only one 9 v battery and it dies after around 24 h . btw i don’t have any outlet by the windows…..Can we use 2 9 v batteries one for arduino and second just for a servo ?

    • I dont think 9v is a good choice. Arduinos run at 3.3v or 5v depending on the version and servos all run at 3.3v I think. If you hook up a 9v too it all you’re doing is burning off energy through a voltage converter. I think you’d have better luck with AA’s configured at 4.5v. I’ve never tested this on battery and i dont expect it would last long. Having said that I’m sure the code can be modified to be more efficient.

  9. You can make it Android controlled, turning your blinds also on time base or manually when you want using souliss.net

    Is an opensource framework for Arduino, have a look :)

  10. This is so awesome! Thanks a bunch for posting it. I’ve been wanting a solution for our blinds for ages. I figure this is the best place to start for home automation. Now I just have to learn!

    Any recommendations on a good resource for how to learn about getting started with this type of thing? I don’t yet know anything about servos or Arduino, but I do have a little bit of programming background (and your code is commented beautifully so I’m not worried there).

    • Honestly go pick up and arduino and start playing. I didn’t know what I wanted to build until I grabbed one. There’s lot of sample code and the arduino community is really helpful

  11. Hey there
    Interesting project. I’m glad I found this page. I have 3 sets of blind for one window due to the size of the window. Would I need 3 separate units for all 3 or can I run with three servos all wired to one arduino? All 3 blinds would be essentially doing the same thing at the same time.

    Thanks for your help in advance

    • Sorry for the delay. I’m currently running two servos for two side by side blinds using one arduino to control them. You can run as many servos as the number of PWM pins on the arduino. I think a servo draws 200-300ma, so anything more than a 1000ma (1 amp) 5v power supply should work. You just need to power the servos directly, not through the arduino.

    • I cant imagine why not, they both work on a similar principle, just might be a bit more trick to rig up. If you end up doing it I’d love to see some photos of how it’s connected.

  12. Can you give any details on how you hooked the servo motor into the blind? mounting is the easy part, the rotation connection is the hard part. did your blinds come with a servvo spline already? did you cut a servo horn? have any photos for details on how to make the turning part work?

  13. Dumb question.

    How does the Servo motor know when to stop?

    Is it timed by the Arduino?
    Or is it done by hitting the end of what the blind can turn? Then stops?

  14. Do you ever have the servo engage multiple times when going from one state to the other -i.e. if it’s near the morning thresholds and the blinds open, but then clouds obscure sun, tricking the controller to think it’s dusk again? I’m trying to build a similar project to yours, but it’s battery powered and I am running into this problem – which isn’t great for prolonging battery life…

    • I had this issue but should be addressed in my latest code by using deadzone thresholds. The issue isn’t random cloud cover, it’s when the light is so close to the threshold that is flaps above and below the threshold.

      I’d be very interested to see you project, any code you have and do know how you’ve approached running it off battery.

      Thanks,

Leave a Reply

